What is ip ban?

1. 7 years ago

I know what a ban is, but how does ip ban work?
    Does it ban the emails used to create the accounts?
    Does it ban the computer?
    Or does it ban related names?

2. if I'm correct, and tell me if I'm not, the IP that is banned is assigned to your modem by your ISP (internet service provider). It's like a signature for your connection. There is also an IP specifically for your computer, but I believe that is separate and mostly used in LAN connection. There is probably a lot more to it, I'm no expert but that's my very vague and possibly incorrect understanding.

3. Edited 7 years ago by BluePlauge

P.s. I would not recommend trying to get around an IP ban, I imagine it will end very badly for whomever tries.

4. So it bans your wifi router?

5. I just typed your convo title into google and got this
    What is an IP ban?
    IP address blocking prevents connection between a server or website and certain IP addresses or ranges of addresses. IP address blocking effectively bans undesired connections from hosts using affected addresses to a website, mail server, or other Internet server.

again though i would not try to dance around an IP ban. I feel we are both going to be watched for any funny business for even talking about it.
    My advice is follow all the rules, don't make huge waves, play nice and you should never experience an IP ban.

6. Edited 7 years ago by Captain_Mitchell

Why, are you afraid you're gonna be IP banned?

7. >:D

8. Ugh you nubs seem confused. An IP is an adress linked to your wifi router, and more specifically your computer. An IP ban will ban your account, and also ban the address that your router/computer has, so you cannot join with another account without a proxy. A proxy is a thing that will change your ip and make it appear to be another IP. Now is everyone good??? :D

(Sorry for helping if this thread was considered dead)